Current

aid projects

The projects still underway today are:

1. Godparenting scheme:

 - Sponsors fund the schooling costs of children in need. In particular, following the Christmas Actions organized by the College de la Planta in Sion and the Enfants First Foundation, 66 school children were sponsored in 2016. This number dropped to 58 in 2017 and 51 in 2018. This project requires continuity, the goal is to ensure the education and training of children until they reach the age of majority.

2. Pa'i Puku Farm, Dairy / Cheese Factory:

 

- Since 2010, the herd has been maintained at some 26 dairy cows and one bull. They provide the Centre with 7,500 litres of milk a month. It is then consumed by residents in the form of milk, yoghurt or cheese.

 

The farm also has about 100 goats and pigs used to feed the residents of the Centre. The agricultural machinery acquired in 2014 makes it possible to harvest the hay necessary for livestock feeding.

 

Our consultant, the swiss agronomist Werner Gerber, ensures the proper training of farmers and cheese makers as well as the production of milk, cheese, yoghurt and hay. It is he who has brought us, since 2010, his professional skills in these areas. He is now also a member of the ASPP Committee.

3. Fruit pulp project:

 -The residents' diet had already improved greatly thanks to the farm and dairy production. The schoolchildren, however, still lacked fruit. Indeed, fruit does not grow in the Chaco because of the salinity of the soil. The goal of this project is to bring fruits from Oriente, east of Paraguay, where they grow in large quantities. For this, the AASPP uses a cooperative of women who pick these fruits and turn them into pulp for transport to the Centre. The pulp is then mixed with yoghurt or eaten with bread made on site.

In 2017 and 2018, the association provided 2,400 kilos of pulp to the Center; by the end of 2019, it is planned to deliver 2000 kg. By 2020, we expect the Center to be able to finance this pulp through the profits from the farm.

4. Empowerment of the farm

 - In 2018, Raul, a young Paraguayan from Pa'i Puku was chosen to be trained in Valais for 6 months, as part of an operation set up by Werner Gerber in collaboration with the State of Valais. After attending courses at the School of Agriculture of Châteauneuf, Raul worked throughout the summer at the Flore pasture, above Conthey, to complete his practical cheese training. He has been working since November 2018 to become the specialist responsible for farm management. This, always with the support of our on-site consultant, is in order to achieve the most efficient, profitable and autonomous farm operation possible. 

Contact us

Bille Jacques

President

Route de Planige 77

CH-3972 Miège

Pa'i Puku Social Medias: 

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

Projets actuels

Les projets toujours en cours aujourd'hui sont les suivants:

1. Parrainage/marrainage:

- Les parrains/marraines financent les coûts d'écolage des enfants dans le besoin. Suite notamment aux Actions de Noël menées par le Collège de la Planta à Sion et la Fondation Les Enfants d'Abord, 66 écolier(e)s étaient parrainés en 2016. Ce nombre est redescendu à 58 en 2017 et 51 en 2018. Ce projet nécessite une continuité, le but est  d'assurer la scolarité et la formation des enfants jusqu'à leur majorité. 

2. Ferme, laiterie/fromagerie de Pa'i Puku:

- Depuis 2010, le troupeau est maintenu à quelque 26 vaches laitières et un taureau. Elle fournissent au centre 7'500 litres de lait par mois. Il est ensuite consommé par les résident sous forme de lait, en yoghourts ou en fromage.

La ferme compte également une centaine de chèvres et des porcs servant à l'alimentation des résidents du Centre. Les machines agricoles acquises en 2014 permettent de récolter le foin nécessaire à l'affouragement du bétail. 

Notre consultant, l'ingénieur agronome jurassien Werner Gerber, veille à la formation adéquate des fermiers et des fromagers ainsi qu'à la production du lait, du fromage, des yoghourts et du foin. C'est lui qui nous a apporté, depuis 2010, ses compétences professionnelles dans ces domaines. Il est désormais aussi membre du Comité de l'ASPP. 

3. Projet pulpe de fruits:

-L'alimentation des résidents s'était déjà grandement améliorée grâce à la ferme et à la production laitière. Les écoliers manquaient toutefois encore de fruits. En effet, ils ne poussent pas dans le Chaco à cause de la salinité du sol. Ce projet a donc pour but de faire venir des fruits de l'Oriente, à l'est du Paraguay, où ils poussent en grande quantité. Pour cela, l'aASPP fait appel à une coopérative de femmes qui cueillent ces fruits et les transforment en pulpe afin d' être acheminés vers le Centre. La pulpe est ensuite mélangée au yoghourt ou mangée avec le pain fabriqué sur place. 

En 2017 et 2018, l'association a fourni 2'400 kilos de pulpe au Centre; pour 2019, il est prévu d'en livrer 2000 kg. Dès 2020, nous escomptons que le Centre puisse financer cette pulpe par les profits retirés de la ferme.  

4. Autonomisation de la ferme

- Raúl, un jeune Paraguayen issu de Pa'i Puku a été choisi pour être formé en Valais durant 6 mois en 2018.  dans le cadre d'une opération mise en place par Werner Gerber en collaboration avec l'Etat du Valais. Après avoir suivi des cours à l'Ecole d'agriculture de Châteauneuf, il a travaillé durant tout l'été à l'alpage de Flore, au dessus de Conthey, pour parfaire sa formation pratique de fromager. Il s'emploie maintenant, depuis novembre 2018, à se former pour devenir le spécialiste responsable de la gestion de la ferme. Cela, toujours avec l'appui de notre consultant sur place, en vue de parvenir à une exploitation fermière la plus efficace, avantageuse et autonome possible. 

Contactez-nous

Association Suisse-Pa'i Puku

c/o Jacques Bille, président

Route de Planige 77

CH-3972 Miège

Les réseaux de

Pa'i Puku :

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle